Nomination for Tamil Nadu assembly polls ends

Nominations to the 234 assembly constituencies for the May 16 elections ended today, over 6400 people including top leaders of AIADMK, DMK and DMDK have filed their papers for the May 16 polls.

According to election commission statistics as many as 6472 candidates had filed their nominations till this evening. Of these 5751 were male, 719 female and two from the third gender,

Filing of nominations started on April 22, 2016. Top leaders like AIADMK supremo and Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa, DMK President M Karunanidhi, DMDK founder Vijayakant, PMK's Chief Ministerial candidate Anbumani Ramadoss and DMK Treasurer MK Stalin have filed their papers.

Nominations will be taken up for scrutiny tomorrow while the last day for withdrawal is May 2, 2016.

Polling will be held on May 16.

Tamil Nadu is witnessing a multi-cornered fight for the 234 Assembly segments, with the AIADMK and DMK being the main contenders even as DMDK-PWF-TMC combine and the PMK are also fancying good show.
புதியது பழையவை